Hypo Allergenic, Chlorine and Latex Free Diapers, Really!

Who does not want the piece of mind you get from a cloth diaper but the ease of a disposable diaper? I believe I found the solution in the eco friendly Company Seventh Generation.  Their motto “In our every deliberation, we must consider the impact of our decisions on the next seven generations.” – From The Great Law Of The Iroquois Confederacy

Back when my son was two months old, (way back when eight months ago) I noticed his diapers always had a strong perfumy odor. They would also be very hot even after they were sitting around for awhile waiting to be disposed of. I couldn’t understand why they stayed so hot, and then I realized it was all of the chemicals in the diapers.

.

One day we were out running around, and it wasn’t convienent to change him right away, that day he developed a yeast infection. It’s not like I left him in a dirty diaper all day, I didn’t.  It was just pretty wet.  I decided at that moment that I would try and find a more natural diaper.  Cloth diapers are not for me I tried them with my daughter and with our lifestyle it was just too difficult.

.

With Seventh Generation Diapers my son’s dirty diapers smell like urine and not perfume. I really don’t mind that at all but rather prefer it to tell you the truth.  Baby urine is not that strong of an odor anyway.  In my opinion they hold about as much as any other diaper.  They remind me of almost a cloth diaper because they are more like paper than plastic, something that I know is much better for my baby’s skin.  Ever since we tried these chlorine free diapers my son has never had another issue with a yeast infection.  These diapers are also hypo allergenic and latex free which are two more reasons to use them.

.

Everything comes at a price. These are not the cheapest diapers in the world I will tell you that but there are ways around it.  I was buying the diapers at the grocery store for $13.99 for a pack of 35 diapers.  He’s a size three…  Being the money saving person that I am I started doing some research.  I found that Babies R Us carries them at the cheapest price of $11.99 not only that, but they always have some sort of sale going on for the Seventh Generation Products.  Right now the sale is $5 off $25 of Seventh Generation Products.  The Seventh Generation Website also has coupons available for their products where you can save additonal money.  I have a coupon right now for $2 off so I will be buying three packs of diapers @ $11.99 each = $35.97 – $7 = $28.97  I saved about $13 that way instead of buying them at the grocery store.

.

.Now I am saving money, using environmentally friendly diapers that are not harming my child but yet I still have the ease of a disposable diaper.  It doesn’t get much better than that!

Leave a comment